h1

Iam a Traveller

September 29, 2009

With nothing but a map and a very open spirit to experience new things, i embarked on a personal journey to travel all over the Philippines. this journey started in July of 2006. My goal was simple – to travel to all the 79 provinces of the country and take a photo of each province’s provincial capitol (the symbol of the province). The reason behind the idea of a provincial capitol photo is simple…..it is the only infrastructure that shows the name and the identity of the province.

Or so I thought……..

Into my journey, I was able to experience the local culture, met new people, and saw the beauty of the whole archipelago. It wasn’t as simple as I thought it would be.

Even before I embarked on this personal, and sometimes spiritual journey of mine, I already considered myself as a wanderer – a BUS running on a very very very long high-way of LIFE. Like the bus, I discover new twists and turns; uphill and downhill roads; sometimes even winding ones; even passing through varying sights of nature – from the very interesting to the mundane.

Season after season, the bus goes on its journey, stopping to accommodate embarking passengers, and sometimes stopping for those who wish to disembark or for emergency purposes and and be called by nature. Along the way, meeting again those who’ve disembarked at one time.

Not that I am unfeeling, but I guess what drives me is the openness to experience new and unfamiliar things and explore the unknown.

Three years into my journey, I’ve already documented my travels to:

AKLAN, Kalibo
ALBAY, Legaspi City
ANTIQUE, San Jose Buenavista
BATAAN, Balanga
BENGUET, La Trinidad
BOHOL, Tagbilaran
BULACAN, Malolos
CAGAYAN, Tuguegarao
CAMARINES NORTE, Daet
CAMARINES SUR, Pili
CAPIZ, Roxas City
CATANDUANES, Virac
CAVITE, Trece Martirez
CEBU, Cebu City
COMPOSTELLA VALLEY, Nabunturan
COTABATO, Kidapawan
DAVAO DEL NORTE, Tagum
DAVAO DEL SUR, Digos
GUIMARAS, Jordan
IFUGAO, Lagawe
ILOCOS SUR, Vigan
ILOILO, Iloilo City
KALINGA, Tabuk
LAGUNA, Sta. Cruz
LA UNION, San Fernando
MARINDUQUE, Boac
MASBATE, Masbate
MOUNTAIN PROVINCE, Bontoc
NUEVA ECIJA, Palayan City
PALAWAN, Puerto Princesa
PAMPANGA, San Fernando
PANGASINAN, Lingayen
QUEZON PROVINCE, Lucena City
SORSOGON, Sorsogon City
ZAMBALES, Iba

Each place/province has a story of its own, the travel, the sights, the people, the local food, and the stories of ordinary people I met along the way. And the number of Philippine provinces is no longer 79, instead three years into my journey, it now numbers to 81.

No frustrations or disappointments however, instead, there is excitement on the prospects of new adventures, new things to learn, and new experiences to unravel.

Here are some of the provincial capitol photos.

2 comments

  1. I commend Jun Muego for these very interesting articles. How I wish I could also document my family’s history…See yah Jun…


    • thanks cez, there is no reason why you cannot. i know you have the skills and i believe that you can do it also. take care and see yah soon.🙂



Leave a Reply

